We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Sj​ä​lö - Original Soundtrack with Sound Environments by Janne Laine

by Lau Nau

Decennier 03:45
Lehdossa 04:27
Ixodida 05:27
Rakas Sinä 02:57
Valemuisto 03:29
Noctuidae 02:28


BUY LP: fonal.com/shop/lau-nau-sjalo-lp/

The seventh Lau Nau album Själö – Original Soundtrack with Sound Environments By Janne Laine will be released on Fonal Records on October 9th 2020.

The album is an instrumental soundtrack to the film Själö – Island of Souls, directed by Lotta Petronella. The score is the sixth full original film score for Laura Naukkarinen and the second cooperation between her and Petronella.

Själö is a concept album. The pieces are one take live recordings, with some exceptions, as the human voices that are recorded afterwards and a few deliberated cuts. Lau Nau has created the electroacoustic sound world by modulating the pianist Matti Bye’s playing and tape loops through her modular synthesizer. The richness and the tension of the music is born in the moment.

The sound designer of the film, Janne Laine, has created an aural copy of the island of Själö by weaving the music pieces inside a thick net of field recordings made on location. We hear how the island breathes in the night time, how the morning rises after the fog disappears, how the lamps are lit in an empty field research center that for centuries was a mental hospital for socially transgressive women. The outcast women were kept there in detention to be observed, studied and measured – in much the same way as the scientists now focus on the surrounding nature at the research center. The space fills up with hidden memories as the invisible archives become alive. Whose stories are remembered and whose are forgotten?

Själö – Island of Souls (Made 2020) premiered in March 2020 at CPH:DOX where it received the Special mention prize.



released October 9, 2020

Piano modulated live through a modular synthesizer with some post editing.

Laura Naukkarinen: modular synthesizer, Lyra-8, voice, additional field recordings
Matti Bye: piano, cassette tapes
Janne Laine: field recordings, monophonic analog synthesizer
Additional voices and sounds by Lotta Petronella, Anna Röllin, Lotta Mäki, Jasmin Inkinen and Katja Mäkinen

Compositions: Laura Naukkarinen and Matti Bye
Lyrics: Seppo Parkkinen, Lotta Petronella and anonymous.
Arrangements and recording: Laura Naukkarinen, Janne Laine and Matti Bye.
Production: Laura Naukkarinen
Mixing: Janne Laine
Mastering: Sami Sänpäkkilä
Graphic design: Lauri-Matti Parppei
Still photos: Maija Savolainen


all rights reserved



Fonal Records Tampere, Finland

Fonal Records is a Finnish independent record label established by Sami Sänpäkkilä in 1995.

Lets stay small forever, lets keep warm, never sell out, never give up, hope is where the heart is!

Please also check out our sister labels releases: aanetonrecords.bandcamp.com
... more

contact / help

Contact Fonal Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Fonal Records recommends:

If you like Själö - Original Soundtrack with Sound Environments by Janne Laine, you may also like: